MOOSE LAKE AREA HISTORICAL SOCIETY
EVENT SCHEDULE 2014


All activities held in the Museum Community Center


Tuesday, January 14, 10:00 a.m. Board Meeting
Tuesday, January 21, 6:45 p.m. Annual Meeting
Tuesday, February 4, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals

Tuesday, March 4, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals

Tuesday, April 1, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Tuesday, April 15, 6:45 p.m. Quarterly Meeting

Sunday, May 4, 6pm Social Hour 7pm Spring Fund Raiser Dinner
Tuesday, May 6, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Saturday, May 24, 10:00 a.m. Depot Opens for Season
Monday, May 26, 11:00 a.m. Veterans Remembered Coffee/ Social Hour
Tuesday, June 3, 7:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Tuesday, July 1, 7:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Tuesday, July 15, 6:45pm Quarterly Meeting
Saturday, August 2, Depotfest 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 5, 7:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals

Monday, September 1, Labor Day Fall Hours through Sunday, October 12
Tuesday, September 10, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Tuesday, October 8, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Saturday, October 11, 1:30 p.m. 96th Fire Commemoration

Sunday, October 12, Depot Closes for Season
Tuesday, October 21, 7 p.m. Quarterly Meeting
Tuesday, November 11, 1:00 p.m. Antique Appraisals
Friday & Saturday, November 28 & 29 9 – 2pm Christmas Open House/Craft & Bake Sale
 

 

The former Soo Line Depot and adjacent History Center contains many interesting exhibits pertaining to the history of the area. In the Depot you will find an exhibit about the history of area railroads, a 1920s era kitchen, a chapel filled with many items from local churches and a display of vintage clothing. Other displays in the Depot change throughout the year. The History Center has a large exhibit regarding the 1918 fire which devastated the area, burning 250,000 acres, destroyed 38 towns, took 453 lives and over 52,000 people were either injured or displaced. There are numerous other displays in the History center that are changed on a regular basis.

The Historical Society has numerous research items for someone interesting in genealogy, many family histories, cemetery records, obituaries, school yearbooks and many years of local newspapers available for research.

The Society is always interested in obtaining more information about local history. If you have family histories, pictures or other memorabilia that would be appropriate for our collection, please let us know.

 

 

 

Moose Lake Area Historical Society Schedule of Events

 

Summer hours are: Monday through Saturday 10:00 am -4:00 pm, Sunday Noon to 3:00pm. After Labor Day:Friday through Monday 10:00am -4:00 PM. The Depot and Museum close October 17 for the winter.

 

 

 

The mission of the Moose Lake Area Historical Society is to collect, preserve and promote the history of Moose Lake and the surrounding areas.